PRSA-Pittsburgh Professional Development Day: Chapter member recap

“Find your passion, and run with it.”

On Thursday, Oct. 29. 2015 that’s what Meredith Klein told her audience at PRSA-Pittsburgh’s Professional Development Day.

Meredith Klein, a public relations and social media senior account executive, is an example of the type of professional I aspire to be. She presented at Waynesburg University during last spring’s Public Relations Week, and again at PRSA-Pittsburgh’s Professional Development Day. Her presentations, along with her outfits, are consistently “on point.”

As is her advice.

When I began looking into colleges, I had no idea where I wanted to end up, other than somewhere remotely close to my beloved Pittsburgh. I was lost when it came to the “great school search.” The one thing I knew was I wanted to study public relations.

When I told my parents this, they were supportive, even though my reasoning behind this decision was little more than that I read a cool article about the Pittsburgh Penguins’ PR director, and she seemed really awesome and that’s what I wanted to do. That’s where the obsession began, but thankfully that’s not where it ended. It has grown from a shallow understanding to a deeper appreciation, and communication professionals like Meredith Klein, Jen Bullano (that really cool PR director for the Penguins,) Shannon Baker, Steve Radick and Brian Bronaugh (the three of whom we heard from at PD Day) only make that appreciation continue to deepen.

“Find your passion, and run with it.”

Eventually, and thankfully, my passion sent me running to Waynesburg University, where I have had the opportunity already in my year and a half on campus to gain so much experience and attend so many incredible events that strengthen my passion for PR. Evenings like Professional Development Day, with its luxurious location and delectable dinner, remind me why it is I spend hours in the PR office in Buhl and spend my nights writing press releases and making fact sheets when my non-PR major friends are off doing “fun stuff.” I do these things because I love to do them. I do them because I want to be an established professional in the field someday soon; because I found my passion, and I ran with it.

“Find your passion, and run with it.”

That’s what Meredith Klein told us.

And I encourage you to do the same.


Maura Fenske is a sophomore public relations major. She serves as the social media coordinator for the Waynesburg University Public Relations Student Society of America Chapter, executive editor of the Mad Anthony Yearbook and an account executive for Red Brick Communications. Maura hopes to combine her passion for public relations, writing and sports in her future career.

Leave a Reply

