Senior Spotlight: Emily Hackman

DSCN0662.JPG

As a freshman, Emily Hackman came to Waynesburg University as an electronic media major with the hope of making an impact in the radio and television industry. After shadowing the promotions director for WCYJ-FM, the student-run radio station, she decide to take the introduction to public relations course to see if it was something that she was interested in. At the end of her freshman spring semester, she became a dual public relations and electronic media major.

“I fell in love with all of the aspects of promotions through WCYJ and I began to realize that I was more comfortable being behind the scenes planning events then being on air,” said Hackman. “I decided to give public relations a shot because I felt that there would be a lot of overlap on what I found to be interesting and fun; I am glad I did because it was one of the best decisions that I could have made for my future.”

Over her four years at Waynesburg University, she became the WCYJ-FM Promotions Director, the News Convergence Editor for The Yellow Jacket and a Relay for Life Captain. She is also a part of the 2017 senior class gift committee and the Relay for Life planning committee.

Hackman had an internship with Cumulus Media, a radio broadcasting company, in the field of promotions during the summer of 2015.

“I had a great experience,” said Hackman. “It was a perfect combination of what I learned in my PR classes, from writing to social media to event planning and design, with a mix of what I learned in my electronic media classes. I felt like I was making a difference and that my voice was being heard.”

A highlight of her internship was assisting in the planning of the 2015 Turkey Hill Fallfest, a country music festival, who the headliner was Big & Rich and LoCash, which was attended by more than 12,000 people.

“It was a very proud moment when I realized that my ideas and designs were going to be used at this large scale event,” said Hackman. “It was something that I never dreamed of doing.”

She was offered employment with Cumulus Media at the conclusion of her internship.

Upon graduation in April, Hackman wishes to stay in the promotions field and the entertainment industry. She would also like to use her skills that she gained at Waynesburg University to make a difference in the lives around her through continuing to give back to nonprofits.


Annie McGlaughlin is a senior public relations major with a journalism minor. Annie is active with the Waynesburg University PRSSA Chapter, and serves as the News Convergence Editor for the student newspaper, The Yellow Jacket. Annie hopes to work in the nonprofit sector post-graduation.

Leave a Reply

