“I’m Not a PR Major, but I’m in PRSSA. You Should Be, Too.”

As a junior, I joined Waynesburg University’s Chapter of the Public Relations Student Society of America, and it was one of the best decisions of my college career. Not only has it introduced me to a great group of people, it also exposed me to many different opportunities that I know I would not have been able to say that I have had before joining.

I am not a public relations major, my major is English literature. When the PR minor was created at Waynesburg, I knew that I wanted to pursue that as well. Joining PRSSA was definitely a positive aspect that came with being a PR student. There are many different things that PRSSA has led me to, here are just a few of them.

Networking and opportunities.

Before joining Waynesburg’s PRSSA Chapter, I was not putting myself out there. Since joining, I have attended numerous events – including Professional Development Day in Pittsburgh, which was hosted by our parent Chapter, Pittsburgh PRSA. The relationship that Waynesburg PRSSA has with PRSA Pittsburgh is a very close one, and that opens a lot of doors when it comes to different events that PRSSA is invited to.

Finding a new passion.

When thinking of what I wanted to do after college, I always wanted to be a book editor. I wanted to get paid to read books all day. Now, however, since being involved in PRSSA and holding two different committee positions under the Public Relations Director, I have realized that I have a passion for the different publications that can be developed. In these committee positions I mostly just do work with the award-winning newsletter, “Trending Topics,” and the Chapter blog. Seeing the work that goes into these two pieces of work, though, became astonishing to me. Assigning different topics, editing them and then ultimately posting them was a process that I really enjoy watching and helping happen.

Building friendships.

When I joined PRSSA, I knew nothing about PR, and it was obvious. Even before paying my dues, people were willing to help me understand what public relations was, as well as help me become a better public relations student. When someone really wants to help you, you can tell, and when I started to show interest in public relations, the other Chapter members made sure that I knew what it was and what I was getting myself into. Even now, two years into the program, I know that I can approach anyone in the Chapter with questions they will be answered and I will understand.

Waynesburg PRSSA is honestly one of the best things about Waynesburg University, and I have enjoyed my time in the Chapter.


Caroline Brown is a senior English literature major, who is also pursuing a minor in public relations. Caroline serves as the publicity chair for Waynesburg University PRSSA. She hopes to pursue a career in publishing post graduation. Caroline is passionate about the Pittsburgh Penguins, reading and spending time with the important people in her life.

Leave a Reply

