Senior Spotlight: Caroline Brown

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 10.24.52 AM.png

Photo courtesy of Mad Anthony Yearbook

Not every member of the Waynesburg University’s Public Relations Student Society of America Chapter is a public relations student. Some students in the Chapter, like senior Caroline Brown, saw the opportunities that a PRSSA membership entailed. Brown, an English literature major with a public relations minor, aspires to be publicist and feels as if communication experience will assist her in achieving her goal.

“I wanted to join [the Chapter] because I am interested in public relations, and I want to use my experiences in my future career,” said Brown. “I am hoping to get into publishing and eventually become a publicist, which will incorporate the English and the public relations fields.”

Although Brown is confident she has chosen the right career path, there are still careers in public relations that are a possibility.

“I like hearing about crisis PR, and I could see myself doing something like that,” said Brown. “I definitely want something that will adequately incorporate English though.”

In her two-year membership with PRSSA, Brown was able to receive all the benefits of a PRSSA membership including attending professional development events, networking and writing and editing for the Chapter’s newsletter. Brown, amongst other seniors, was one of the first members given the privilege of hosting and planning for a Regional Conference at Waynesburg.

“Regional Conference was a great time for me. I really enjoyed helping out in the ways that I did, even if they were small parts, and doing the Career Exhibition was also very fun,” said Brown. “I was involved in the planning and the executing, and it was definitely something that I really liked doing.”

Brown is looking forward to post-graduation life, as well as following her passions within these two fields. She is open to career possibilities, as well as the continuation of her professional development.

“I am excited to move to another chapter in my life,” said Brown. “I am looking forward to starting a career, advancing myself and finding my passions.”

As for her advice to students who are considering joining PRSSA, Brown is adamant that the decision to join the Chapter has numerous benefits for students, regardless of major.

“I definitely advise students to join PRSSA,” said Brown. “Even someone who is not majoring in PR can benefit from it, and I have experienced that first hand.”


Zac Sniadach is a senior public relation student and a student athlete at the university. Zac is a member of the WUPRSSA Executive Board, serving as treasurer.  He also serves as a representative of Waynesburg’s Fellowship of Christian Athletes. 

 

Leave a Reply

